Accolades (05.22.13)


UT Arlington College of Nursing professors Maxine Adegbola and Phyllis Adams have been named recipients of Association of Black Nursing Faculty Lifetime Achievement in Education and Research Awards. Adegbola has been an assistant professor at UT Arlington since 2008. Her research areas include sickle cell disease, chronic pain, genomics and health disparities. Adams is a clinical associate professor who joined UT Arlington in 1995 and is currently director of the UT Arlington Family Nurse Practitioner program. Her research interests include sickle cell, HIV, and stress management.

Thomas Heffernan, M.D., of Medical City Dallas performed the first scarless robotic hysterectomy of North Texas. The surgery, using the da Vinci robot, removed the patient’s uterus, cervix and ovaries through a tiny incision in the belly button. Heffernan is one of only a few surgeons in the nation, and the second in Texas, who is trained to perform the single-site robotic surgery. Benefits of the surgery include minimal pain, low blood loss, and a typical hospital stay of 24 hours.

Sue Sebazco, R.N., MBA, CIC, infection prevention director at Texas Health Arlington Memorial Hospital, has been recognized with the Distinguished Service Award from the Association for Professionals in Infection Control and Epidemiology. The award recognizes individuals for their outstanding professional contributions in a volunteer capacity at the national level. Sebazco has been with the hospital since 1983 and has served as APIC president in 2005. Her volunteer efforts with APIC include serving as Governmental Affairs Committee chair, as Public Policy Committee chair, and as Program Committee Chair.

David J. Ballard, M.D., Ph.D., Baylor Health Care System chief quality officer and executive director of the Institute for Health Care Research and Improvement, has received the 2012 John M. Eisenberg Article-of-the-Year in Health Services Research Award from Health Services Research journal. Ballard was recognized for his article “The Effectiveness of Implementing an Electronic Health Record on Diabetes Care and Outcomes” published in the August 2012 issue of the journal. Ballard led the investigation of the study.


Rowlett’s Lake Pointe Medical Center has received the American Heart Association/ American Stroke Association’s Get With The Guidelines®-Stroke Gold Plus Quality Achievement Award. The award recognizes LPMC for its achievement of 85 percent or higher to all Get With The Guidelines-Stroke Quality Achievement indicators for two or more consecutive 12-month intervals and for an achievement of 75 percent or higher compliance with six of 10 Get With The Guidelines-Stroke Quality Measures. The initiatives demonstrate the hospital’s commitment to providing quick, quality care under the urgent needs of stroke treatment.

The Texas Health Dallas Institute for Exercise and Environmental Medicine has been accredited with distinction from the Undersea and Hyperbaric Medical Society. The accreditation recognizes the chamber for its high performance measures in patient safety and care. Only 13 percent of the nation’s hospital-based hyperbaric units are nationally accredited. The IEEM chamber, one of the largest in Texas, is designed to treat multiple patients simultaneously for chronic non-healing wounds, diabetic foot wounds, and bone infections, as well as to train military and civilian pilots.

Methodist Charlton Medical Center earned Quality Respiratory Care Recognition under a national program started by the American Association for Respiratory Care. Methodist Charlton is one of only about 700 hospitals nationwide to receive the designation. This is the fourth consecutive year that Methodist Charlton has received this recognition.

Posted in Uncategorized.