Accolades (7/16/13)

Recognized this week is Baylor All Saints Medical Center at Fort Worth, plus healthcare professionals from Baylor Institute for Immunology Research, UTSW’s Center for Alzheimer’s and Neurodegenerative Diseases, and THR’s Ben Hogan Sports Medicine program.


Baylor All Saints Medical Center at Fort Worth has received the Energy Star certification from the EPA, becoming the first hospital in the Dallas-Fort Worth area to do so. The Energy Star program is a rating system for commercial and institutional buildings that measures energy efficiency and performance on a scale of 1 to 100. Baylor All Saints surpassed the Energy Star requirement of 75, earning a rating of 85. The hospital’s energy strategy included upgrading the parking garage light fixtures with more efficient lighting, starting an employee Energy Awareness Program, and replacing older HVAC equipment.


Robert Coffman, an investigator at the Baylor Institute for Immunology Research, has received the 2013 Novartis Prize for Basic Immunology. Coffman’s research—conducted with Tim Mosmann of the University of Rochester—led to a discovery that has established one of the most fundamental principles of immunology and improved the understanding of how the immune system fights microbial infections. Coffman will attend a prize ceremony in Milan in August. The Novartis Prize is awarded once every three years, and is considered the most prestigious award in the field of immunology.

Joachim Herz, director of the Center for Alzheimer’s and Neurodegenerative Diseases at UT Southwestern, has received a two-year, $150,000 grant from the BrightFocus Foundation to support his research in identifying potential treatment for Alzheimer’s. Herz and his team are investigating the ApoE4 protein that is an important risk factor for the disease. The team discovered that small molecules could be used to prevent the “traffic jam” inside nerve cells caused by ApoE4.

Brian Conway, director of the Texas Health Ben Hogan Sports Medicine program at Texas Health Resources, has been named one of the 12 “Most Distinguished Athletic Trainers” for 2013 by the National Athletic Trainers’ Association. Conway headed the post-professional athletic training and sports physical therapy residency programs within Texas Health Ben Hogan to help prepare residents for advanced clinical practice. Conway and the Texas Health Ben Hogan team also trained more than 11,000 Texas high school coaches and trainers on how to react when players suffer concussions.

Posted in Hospitals, News.