UTSW Faculty Member Named To American Academy of Arts & Sciences

The Academy of Arts and Sciences announced its annual inductees this week, including one from North Texas: UT Southwestern Chair Dr. Sandra L. Schmid. She is the chair of the Department of Cell Biology and is internationally recognized from her research on how cells internalize nutrients, a process known as endocytosis. She joins a class of 16 other UTSW faculty members who have been inducted into the academy since 1974. “I’m honored. The AAAS lists as its mission to ‘champion scholarship, civil dialogue, and useful knowledge,’ values to which I try to adhere. This recognition, of course, reflects the extensive… Full Story

Conversation With: Dr. Daniel K. Podolsky, UTSW President, Reflects On Clements Hospital

On December 6, UT Southwestern Medical Center opened the doors of the long-awaited William P. Clements Jr. University Hospital, a 12-story, W-shaped teaching facility that replaced the out-of-date and frequently at-capacity St. Paul University Hospital. In this wide-ranging Q&A, UTSW president Dr. Daniel K. Podolsky reflects on the planning process, what the hospital brings to the university and to Dallas, and what it means for future UTSW graduates. Full Story

The New Dean At UTA’s College of Nursing Focuses On Boosting Research Efforts

Anne Bavier became dean of UT Arlington’s College of Nursing on August 1, inheriting a program that has a graduation rate of nearly 95 percent and is angling to boost its research efforts while expanding its international partnerships. Expectations are high. When she was announced as the college’s newest leader, UTA President Vistasp Karbhari proclaimed she “will lead us into a new era of national recognition and influence.” First, however, Bavier is zeroing in on a more immediate issue: Making sure the College of Nursing and the Department of Kinesiology merge smoothly. Last year, school officials gave the OK to… Full Story