UNT System College of Pharmacy Names New Dean

Dr. Charles Taylor (Courtesy of: UNT)

The UNT Health Science Center recently appointed Dr. Charles Taylor as its new dean of the UNT System College of Pharmacy. He will replace interim dean Tina Machu and begin his duties in June.

Taylor most recently served as dean and vice president of academic affairs at Northeast Ohio Medical University. At NEOMED, Taylor strengthened the college of pharmacy’s research enterprise by launching a neurodegenerative diseases and aging research center, which was funded by UNT donors and NIH grants.

Prior to NEOMED, Taylor served as associate dean for clinical affairs at the St. Louis College of Pharmacy and senior associate dean at the University Of Minnesota College Of Pharmacy. He brings knowledge of pharmaceutical education and a “strong commitment to community, innovation, quality and excellence” to his new role, the health science center said.

According to Claire Peel, interim provost at UNTHSC, Taylor also believes in sustaining authentic collaborative care models within the community and developing pharmacy leaders who can create positive change in the pharmaceutical field.

“Taylor is a strong supporter of inter-professional education and practice, collaboration, and innovation,” Peel said in a statement. “With his leadership, the College of Pharmacy will continue to grow and excel in education, research, and practice.”

Taylor earned his bachelor’s degree in pharmacy and his doctor of pharmacy degree at Auburn University.

Posted in News, Staffing.