North Texas Physicians Honored by the Texas Medical Association

The Texas Medical Association handed out several awards to North Texas physicians for their work with students and patients at their annual conference in Dallas.

Dr. Linda M Siy (Courtesy of: Texas Medical Association).

Fort Worth family physician Dr. Linda M. Siy was recognized by Texas medical students for her commitment to mentoring students by giving her the 2019 C. Frank Webber, MD, Award. Siy has worked in the JPS network since 1995. “To be recognized for doing what I truly enjoy is a gift, and I am extremely honored,” said Siy via release. “C. Frank Webber was a remarkable, very accomplished family physician, and that makes this award even more special to me, as a family physician.”

The international Medical Graduate section of the Texas Medical Association honored Plano physician Nick N. Shroff with the IMG Section Outstanding Physician Award for his work improving the community outside of his practice. The retired urologist is founder and president of the American Prostate Cancer Foundation, which helps patients access care to diagnose and treat prostate cancer. He also volunteers for Project ECHO, a consulting practice for underserved and rural communities. The service connects providers with specialists to better care for patients rather than have them travel long distances.

Dr. Nick Shroff (Courtesy of: Texas Medical Association)

“I am honored TMA has recognized me for what I love to do,” said Dr. Shroff via release. “Helping my community stay healthy and productive is a priority.”

Dr. G Sealy Massingill recieved the Texas Medical Association Young at Heart award for inspiring the Young Physician Section to advocate for the care of all Texans. The Fort Worth obstetrician-gynecologist has been practicing for more than 30 years, training residents, and supervising more than 10,000 deliveries along the way. He has been the Chief Medical Officer of Planned Parenthood of Greater Texas and JPS Hospital.

Dr. G. Sealy Massingill (Courtesy of: Texas Medical Association).

“What a nice honor. It’s gratifying to know that young docs think I have something to offer,” said Massingill via release. “This award means that all the time and effort I’ve put into working towards a better future seems to be meaningful to others.”

“Dr. Massingill is a leader, mentor, and sponsor for the early practice physician,” said Laura Faye Gephart, MD, a YPS member via release “He understands and advocates for issues near and dear to those of us who will practice long after he retires. By echoing the voice of young physicians, it shows he respects and affirms that we have a notable say in the world of health care.”