Southwestern Medical Foundation Announces New Chairman, Trustees

James R. Huffines will be the Chairman of the Board of Trustees of the Southwestern Medical Foundation. He will be joined by four new board members: Timothy P. Costello, Sarah K. Miller, Matthew S. Ramsey, and Sam L. Susser.

James Huffines (Courtesy of: Southwestern Medical Foundation)

Huffines will team up with Foundation President and CEO Kathleen M. Gibson to lead the charitable corporation in their work to advance medical progress through UT Southwestern Medical Center and its related institutions. He became a board member in 2011 and will succeed Robert B. Rowling, who held the role since 2014.

“It has been an honor to serve Southwestern Medical Foundation and expand the reach of our worthy mission,” said Rowling via release. “We have a group of experienced community leaders serving on our Board, all of whom have worked tirelessly during my tenure as Chairman to promote the good work of our Foundation throughout the Dallas community. I am proud to welcome James to this role, as I know he will bring the strong business acumen, innovative ideas, and philanthropic vision necessary to continue advancing progress in medicine.”

Huffines has more than three decades of experience in banking and finance, and most recently was the the COO of subsidiaries at Hilltop Holdings. He was also President and COO of Plains Capital Corporation from 2010 to 2015. He has also served on a number of other institutions connected with UT Southwestern.

“It is with tremendous gratitude that I continue my service to Southwestern Medical Foundation as Chairman of the Board,” said Huffines via release. “I look forward to collaborating with our Trustees to honor the mission established for this region, by assuring the Foundation is positioned to provide sustainable and significant capital for medical progress in our community and the world beyond. I would also like to extend my deepest thanks to Bob Rowling for the leadership he has provided over the last five years.”

“Our business community has long been a driver of excellence and innovation, and it is an honor to have worked with Chairman Bob Rowling,” said Gibson via release. “It is equally inspiring to continue to attract outstanding talent, such as James Huffines as Chairman, and this outstanding group of community leaders as Trustees.  James has been an actively engaged leader on the Foundation Board for eight key years of growth, actively bringing vision and insight to the opportunities that lie ahead.”

Four others will join Huffines on the board. Costello is the Co-founder and Managing Director of Newstone Capital Partners, LLC, and has served on boards connected to the Byron Nelson, Rise School of Dallas, Perot Museum of Nature and Science and more.

Miller is the President and Chairwoman of the Kozmetsky Family Foundation, and has been on board of the Austin Film Festival, and served with the Texas Film Hall of Fame, Junior League of Dallas, and more.

Ramsey is the Chief Operating Officer of Energy Transfer, where he serves on the board, and has also been involved with leadership at USA Compression, Sunoco, Penn-Tex Midstrean Partners, and more.

Susser is the President of Susser Holdings II, L.P., and has served on boards such as the Driscoll CHildren’s Hospital System, the University of Texas Kay Bailey Hutchison Center for the Study for Energy, Law and Business, and more.


Keep me up to date on the latest happenings and all that D Magazine has to offer.